We're currently making some changes to the website. Be sure to check back soon! In the meantime, you can follow us on our social media.

YDPR elects new leadership; supports Self-Determination Bill for Puerto Rico (HR2757)

YDPR elects new leadership; supports Self-Determination Bill for Puerto Rico (HR2757)

Published on: May 19, 2023



Dear Members,

I extend my warmest greetings to all of you, as your new President of the Young Democrats of Puerto Rico.

Last Saturday, May 13, our Annual Assembly was held, where the new YDPR Executive Committee was ratified, composed of: Alexandra M. Meléndez Iturrino as Vice President, Marino Puello Rivera as Secretary, and Yarleen González Peña as Treasurer. In addition, Gabriela Firpi and Adriel Jared Vélez Torres were ratified as representatives to the National Committee, and myself as president.

As a Board of Directors, we have set three important goals: to expand the organization to make it more inclusive and participatory, to disseminate the principles of the Democratic Party and how they positively impact the lives of Puerto Ricans, and to promote the Status Bill (H.R. 2757) presented in this Congress, to achieve the decolonization of Puerto Rico.

In that direction, the YDPR Assembly passed a resolution supporting H.R. 2757: "Puerto Rico Status Act". This Bill sets forth clearly defined, self-executing, non-territorial status options and a commitment by Congress to abide by the plebiscite results.

We want you to be an integral part of the goals we have set for ourselves. Your opinions and suggestions are welcome and necessary to achieve a better YDPR for all.

We're counting on you!

Listen to our podcast:52 Stories by YDPR